MeatBall Sandwich

I love my new puppy, I love my new puppy, I love my new puppy.

MeatBall Sandwich3

Oh sorry, I have to keep reminding myself of that or I might just… well if you have ever owned a puppy, you know where I’m going with that.  Don’t get me wrong, I was not delusional in thinking all my possessions would be safe when we brought her home.

Maggie

I’ve had a few dogs over the years, and with each dog, more and more things get destroyed. You think I would have learned.  The latest victim… My camera lens! Yup that’s right, she pulled my camera off a table by the strap… and when it hit the ground… no more lens.

Meatball Sandwich

The only thing saving her little puppy neck, other than that fact that she is ridiculously cute, I had an excuse to get a new lens. Thank you Maggie?  Maybe she would like to play in my shoe closet???  Hmmmm.

MeatBall Sandwich 2

So now I have a new lens to take lovely pictures of all my food.    So I made this!  This yummy, cheesy, saucy meatball sandwich.  You should make this, even if you don’t have a puppy running around destroying all your stuff.

Meatball Sandwich4

Meatball Sandwich

[Adapted from: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/09/meatball-sandwich-submarine-grinder-hoagie-torpedo/]

½ lbs ground turkey
½ lbs ground beef
2 slices of bread
2 Tablespoon Italian spice (I used club house)
3-5 chopped shallots
1 egg
1 Tablespoon parmesan cheese
½ Cup of milk
1  Jar of tomato sauce
8 Slices of fresh mozzarella
4 Buns

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees, spray a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray

Mix all the ingredients, except tomato sauce, mozzarella, and buns, in a large bowl, by hand.

Form into 1-2 inch balls and place on the cookie sheet.  Bake for 15 mins.

Meanwhile, place the tomato sauce in a large pot, on medium heat.

Once the meat balls are done, place then in the tomato sauce.

To make the sandwich, cut the buns almost in half.  Take meat balls and place them on one side of the bun ( I cut my meatballs in half) and smoosh them (ya, I said smoosh) into the buns.  Top with sauce and mozzarella slices.  Don’t forget to spoon some sauce on the empty side of the bun, so it doesn’t burn.

Place in the oven, under the broiler , until the cheese is melted (2-5 mins)

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Your puppy looks so much like mine!! Aw! I know they can be a pain though :) On a high note, this sandwich looks AMAZING.

    Reply
  2. Aww, I know how you feel! We adopted a pup last year and life was chaos for a few weeks until things started to… normalize a bit. It will get SO much easier and you both will develop a comfy routine, don’t worry! In the meantime, there’s awesome comfort food like this meatball sandwich to keep your skies sunny, haha. It looks soooo delicious!

    Reply
  3. Oh, your puppy is so cute! She looks so sweet and innocent, I am sure she would NEVER break a lens. You must be mistaken about that LOL. But either way, you have a new lens yippee! What did you get? I am currently looking at cameras and lenses…

    Meatball sandwich looks great! Now I am hungry!

    Reply
    • I have a Nikon D70. The stock lens is the one she broke, it was an 18-55 mm lens,,,, its crap. I bought a 1.8 50mm lens.. its nice. She is lucky she is cute.

      Reply
  4. ooo a new lens i need to buy a new one atm mine is pretty awful. This looks scrummy!

    Reply
  5. Ah, a meatball sandwich. So much win. Sooo much.

    And yes, I know exactly what you mean about the puppy. How can something so cute be so destructive? And a camera lens?? That puppy is definitely lucky!

    Reply
  6. Yum! This sandwich looks incredible, and I just love the size of those meatballs!

    Reply
  7. Gina

     /  May 28, 2013

    Just found your blog. Very, very nice! All your recipes look so yummy and you have done a great job photographing. You are such a talent my dear. :0)

    Reply
  8. haha your puppy is adorable … but I totally understand. When our beagle was a pup she used to tear up the carpet … funny now but not so much at the time!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

