Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers

Don’t you ever just want to eat healthy?  Ya, me neither….:)  What I should say is:  “Don’t you ever THINK you should be eating healthy?”  Sometimes I do… after 3 batches of cookies, a pan of brownies and cinnamon rolls, I’m thinking it’s time to even it up and add a few veggies.

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers5

When I do feel like that, I whip something like this up

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers2

It’s no green smoothie, Dr. Oz, but it will do.

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers4

Don’t get me wrong I’m a pretty healthy person.   I try to live in moderation….. but I’ll tell you, it’s been a little hard since I started to blog.  How are you not supposed to eat fresh cookies, and brownies, and pizza…. and … well you get the picture.

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers1

So I apologize if all of a sudden you see a bunch a healthy stuff here.  Don’t worry it won’t last long, my sweet tooth will always prevail.

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and Red Peppers3

For now, this delicious “Healthy” Pasta will have to do.  Enjoy.

Shredded Chicken Pasta with Spinach and red peppers

[Adapted from http://www.cbc.ca/bestrecipes/2011/03/creamy-chicken-and-spinach-pasta.html]

2 Chicken Breast (bone-in or boneless) ** the bone will give it flavor and it is cheaper
1 Teaspoon olive oil
1 Onion
1 Red Pepper
2 Teaspoon minced garlic
1 Tablespoon dried basil
½ Teaspoon pepper
2 Tablespoons Flour
3 Tablespoons lemon juice
1 Can (385 ml) evaporated fat-free milk
2 ½ Cups (dry) whole wheat pasta
½ Bag Fresh Spinach
2 Green onions, chopped

Bring a pot of water to a boil, reduce heat.  Place a bag of orange pekoe tea into the water and soak for 10 minutes.  Remove the tea and place the chicken in the water and let boil for 30 minutes for boneless, 45 minutes for bone-in.

Remove the chicken from tea, and place on a cutting board.  Using 2 forks, shred chicken.  Set aside

**Note at bottom

Cook the pasta according to the package.  Set aside.

** *Note at bottom

Chop up the onion, and red pepper.   Mince the garlic.

Heat the olive oil in a deep frying pan, add the onion, red pepper, garlic, basil and pepper.  Cook for 3-5 minutes, or until the onions are soft, but not brown.

Sprinkle the flour over the onion mixture, add the chicken and lemon juice, and mix until combined.  Slowly pour the evaporated milk.  Stir until the sauce thickens.  Turn the heat down to low.

Add the pasta and spinach to the chicken sauce, stir until combined.

Sprinkle chopped green onion over pasta and serve.

** Note : if you don’t want to shred the chicken you can cut it up into cubes and cook in a pan with 1 teaspoon of oil.

***Note : you can add some olive oil to keep the pasta from sticking

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. This look really good! I’ve never tried evaporated milk with pasta.

    Reply
  2. Looks yummy! I’m always a fan of healthy recipes – like you said, you’ve gotta have balance!

    Reply
  3. gerryspeirs

     /  May 7, 2013

    Love your blog name! This pasta sounds tasty and,thanks for stopping by FG :)

    Reply
  4. This is a funny post and I do totally agree with you ! I like to eat healthy … when I feel guilty after a huge part of chocolate cake ;)

    Reply
  5. I just stumbled on your blog and I’m glad I did. Your pictures are lovely and your descriptions are great. I can’t wait to try some of your recipes (healthy or not).

    Reply
  6. This looks like a big plate of comfort!

    Reply
  7. Nice colorful dish that is very enticing to me right now!

    Reply
  8. I’m a huge fan of spinach and red pepper in pasta, so you had me at hello! Looks awesome!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

