Zucchini Latkes

Who wants a snack!!!

Zuchini Latkes1

I do! I do!! That is why I made these.  The other weekend I was thinking about my recent trip out to Calgary, to visit my handsome nephew… and my super foodie sister.  Yup, that’s right, there are two of us… although I’d say she is more adventurous than me…… and a much better cook.

Zuchini Latkes2

If she wasn’t running after a 2 year old, going to work and going back to school, she would have the most incredible food blog.

Zuchini Latkes3

Enough with the compliments… shesh you think I wanted something from her…. Well …..  I would love for her to come down here and make me these!!  You see, she is to blame for the fact that I’m craving them.  She made a similar version while we were visiting.  I threw in the zucchini, mainly because I was feeling guilty about all the frying….. there, now they’re healthy…..right?

Zuchini Latkes4

Mmmmm …. Trust me they are worth it!!!

Zucchini Latkes

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/mini_potato_zucchini_latkes.php%5D

3 Baking potatoes
2 Zucchini
½ cooking onion
½ Teaspoon of salt
1 Egg
3 Tablespoons of flour
2-3 Cups of olive oil

Grate the potatoes (you can use a grater or a food processor).  Squeeze as much of the liquid out, set aside.  Grate the Zucchini, add salt and set aside.  Grate the ½ cooking onion.   Mix grated potatoes, zucchini, onion and flour in a large bowl

Wisk the egg lightly, add to the large bowl. ( I did this with my hands to make sure it was all mixed, but a spoon works)

Heat oil in a fry pan at medium heat.   Using a tablespoon, scoop out potatoes mixture and place it in the oil.  Flatten with the back of a spoon.

Cook for 5 minutes on each side, or until the edges are brown.

Remove from the oil and place on a paper towel.

Serve with Greek yogurt, with fresh dill.

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Yay for zucchini latkes! I just made a batch last week – they’re divine!

    Reply
  2. My grandma is German and makes potato pancakes all the time but I have never had them with zucchini. Sounds delish!

    Reply
  3. I love that there is zucchini in this! Totally makes it healthier : )

    Reply
  4. These look really good. Another recipe to add to the arsenal when I have more zucchini coming out of my garden than I know what to do with!

    Reply
  5. Wow, these look amazing!! I love zucchini, I love latkes, and I can’t believe I haven’t thought of it this. They sounds delicious.

    Reply
  6. I love latkes (what’s not to like), but I’ve never made them myself. I love the idea of putting zucchini in the batter and completely agree with your sentiment – those vegetables totally make these health food!

    Reply
  7. These look amazing! They look (and I’m sure taste) beautifully crisp and yummy! (Btw, I love your blog name and the reasoning behind it… : )

    Reply
  8. Not only do these look and sound amazing…but I have everything I need already in my kitchen. Score! Thank you for sharing! I’m glad I found your blog this morning!

    Reply
  9. I love that these are a yummy, less starchy, version of potato latkes!

    Reply
  10. thethirtyfifthyear

     /  May 8, 2013

    I need to try these – I’m kind of a boring veggie eater and I need to spice things up (;

    Reply
  11. These sound and look so good! Perfect for a snack too, and yes, TOTALLY healthy because of the zucchini. Good job!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

