Kitchen Sink Cookies

Have you ever gone looking for a snack, and despite the fact there is a ton of stuff in the cupboard, there is nothing to eat!

009-2

I have heard this waaaaaay to many times in my house… so what do you eat when there is too much of “nothing” in your cupboards?

017-2

You make crazy cookies!!!!

018-2

You take all that stuff and you jam it in to a cookie.

021-2

The great thing about these cookies is, you can put pretty much anything in them… I mean it… take a look at the recipe……

025-2

…..and then add what you have in your cupboards.

029

Kitchen Sink Cookies

[Adapted from my favorite blogger Jessica’s cookies!!! http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/08/crazy-confetti-compost-cookies/ ]

¾ Cups of unsalted butter
2 Cups of Flour
1/2 Teaspoon of baking soda
1/4 Teaspoon of  salt
1 Cup of brown sugar
1/2 Cup  regular sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 Teaspoons of vanilla extract
3/4 Cup of potato chips, crushed ( I used salt and vinegar)
3/4 Cup of chocolate chips
1/2 Cup of pretzels, crushed
1/3 Cup of butterscotch chips
1/3 Cup of Skor bits
1/3 Cup of mini M&M
1/3 Cup of rainbow sprinkles

Pre heat the oven to 325 degrees.

Melt and cool the butter.

While the butter is cooling, mix flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl, set aside.

Mix both sugars, vanilla, and both the egg and egg yolk in a large bowl.

Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet, until combined.

Now the fun part, add the remaining ingredients, (use whatever you want, mix it up!).

Roll out the dough into 1-1/2 inch balls.  At this point you can simply put them on your baking sheet…. Or you could use the method I used above in my pictures.  This method (and recipe) was adapted from my favorite blogger.  Take the rolled ball and split it in half.  Now stack them one on top of the other (round parts touching, like in the picture).  I used my hand to squish it down a bit.

Bake for 10 -12 minutes.

Cool on a cooling rack while still on the pan for 5 minutes, then place the cookies directly on the cooling rack, until completely cooled.

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. holy crazy cookie, Batman! Those things are packed with stuff! Sounds good though and I like the idea of using up all the stuff you could. I’ll probably have to do something similar soon.

    Good pics too!

    Reply
  2. These cookies look so fun with all those colors! Very nice : )

    Reply
  3. Trina

     /  April 23, 2013

    I still talk about these cookies …. I couldn’t believe how tasty they were. Each bite was different and the combo of sweet and salty …. crunchy and chewy …YUMMY!!!

    Reply
  4. Love the stacking and then smoosh-down shots! The cookies look delish!

    Reply
  5. I love that big pile of colorful, delicious ingredients! These cookies look sensational!

    Reply
  6. These look delicious! Pinning!

    Reply
  7. Kitchen sink cookies are my favorite kind of cookie! I love it when cookies are packed with so many good things. Yum!

    Reply
  8. This method is exactly how I stack my cookies too. I love these!

    Reply
  9. OMG I’m doing that squishing thing forever now. And you put all those things in one cookie? I think I love you!

    Reply
  10. I love this idea! Salty and sweet cookies are my favorite. They look great.

    Reply
  11. I especially love the potato chips and pretzels in these! Love that sweet and salty combo! And cookies are always a very good thing : )

    Reply
  12. I love how cute and colorful these are!

    Reply
  13. Wow, loving that we can use up all our extra ingredients for these cookies! Great pic of all the ingredients! Such fun & colorful cookies, gotta try them soon!

    Reply
  14. Love Jessica’s recipes! A great way to use all those half bags of goodies laying around in the cupboard.

    Reply
  15. Ohh these look awesome! I love the idea of throwing everything you can find into a cookie:) They look gorgeous!::):):):)

    Reply
  16. I love these! I currently have cabinets full of not-quite-enough of many ingredients to make lots of recipes, but I bet if I combined them i could make some awesome kitchen sink cookies. YUM! Amy @ Fearless Homemaker

    Reply
  17. What a GREAT idea! I love this. I can just imagine the crazy “kitchen sink” cookies that would come out of my pantry! Haha!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

